Auberge la Caverne, Kigali

I stayed at Auberge la Caverne in Kigali. The hotel’s comfort and amenities were fine, but the hotel staff stole $500 from my locked room. Furthermore, they stole $2,000 from the room of another guest while I was there. When I checked out, three of the hotel’s employees were in jail. To make matters worse, the hotel manager refused to offer even a partial refund for my stay, and even yelled at me and accused me of making up my story. Needless to say, I was infuriated and told all my friends to steer clear of Auberge la Caverne. I would strongly encourage you to alter or remove your glowing recommendation of Auberge la Caverne. Sam Kidder

6 thoughts on “Auberge la Caverne, Kigali

  1. jenny craddock says:

    I’m looking for a nice hotel in Kigali that’s relatively cheap. My friend and I are visiting in June. Can you help?

  2. Sharon says:

    Why would you leave that amount of cash in your room unsecured anyway?? I wouldn’t leave cash in my room anywhere in Africa, or many places I stay for that matter.
    I’ve stayed at Auberge La Caverne a number of times and will return there next time I’m in Kigali. It was daggy and shabby, but clean, had hot showers, yummy, safe and cheap meals, and ever so helpful and friendly staff.

    • philipbriggs says:

      Hi Sharon,

      Good to hear the positive feedback about Auberge La Caverne. However, I’m not sure I agree with you about leaving cash in a room. In Africa overall, especially in larger cities, I have heard of far more instances of travellers being mugged, pickpocketed or otherwise having stuff stolen from their person than of theft from a locked hotel room… either course of action carries a risk!

      Cheers, Philip

Leave a Reply

