Rwanda Nziza Craft Store

William Snyder writes:

I would like to alert you to a small, new craft store, Rwanda Nziza, in Kigali. I have worked with one of the directors, Gilbert Kubwimana, for the last two years. Gilbert is the RW representative for Songa Designs, a company in the US that imports Rwanda crafts. Gilbert has taken me and my students to Cocoki tailoring coop and to a group of young men who craft jewelry from cow horn for the last two years. Very interesting, very worthwhile, and very well made crafts–my students are always very impressed, as am I (I special ordered 4 neck ties–very very nicely done!)

The groups that he works with do excellent work and it is unique to Rwanda. Songa and other groups sell their crafts at Rwanda Nziza. I think it would be wonderful for a mention in the Bradt guide (I have used the guide since beginning to travel to Rwanda, in 2009 and have used Bradt in my others travels as well).

Nziza’s local number is 250 78537 1520 or 250 7886 27104. The email address is info@rwanda-nziza.com. See also https://www.facebook.com/RwandanzizastoreRaftaa

Leave a Reply

